What is Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) and How Does It Affect My Business?

If you’ve heard about Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC), you may be concerned about your next steps to meet the requirements. Currently, this is a self-assessment period, during which businesses can map out the best plan for compliance. This precedes the eventual mandatory compliance to qualify for government contracts.

Let’s discuss CMMC and how to work toward CMMC certification.

What Is Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC)?

Lock Icon of Cyber Security Digital Data, Digital Data Network Protection, Global Network 5g High-Speed Internet Connection and Big Data Analysis Background.

CMMC certification is a Department of Defense (DoD) certification that reviews cybersecurity standards and best practices and assigns maturity levels and corresponding requirements. The purpose of CMMC is to reduce the risk of cyber threats and build upon existing Defense Federal Acquisition Regulations Supplement (DFARS).

Cyber security is imperative to protect sensitive information, and the best way to combat the threat is continually adapting and improving security measures. CMMC is a cybersecurity standard that brings all DoD contractors and supply chain manufacturers onto a level plane.

Obtaining CMMC certification verifies your company has the appropriate level of security to meet DoD standards.

How Does CMMC Relate to NIST?

NIST cybersecurity standards are the best practices for protecting data. This new certification will replace National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 800-171 certification on DoD RFIs and RFPs.

Who Needs CMMC Certification?

At this time, approximately 300,000 Department of Defense contractors are subject to CMMC, as well as any suppliers of these contractors. As such, CMMC will affect many Ohio manufacturers and other businesses. Any business that produces parts that support defense-related equipment is subject to CMMC.

How Were CMMC Standards Developed?

The CMMC compliance requirements were developed from best practices from NIST.

What Are the CMMC Certification Levels?

The CMMC framework includes five levels. Compliance with the level assigned reduces the risk of cyber threats. Each business affected by CMMC is assigned a level that corresponds with their required action to meet these new cybersecurity requirements.

Your level will be assigned based on your assessed vulnerabilities, and then you will be tasked with the appropriate steps to correct these possible weak points in security. QualityIP is familiar with these CMMC levels and the steps necessary to meet certification.

When should I start taking steps toward CMMC?

The best time to start is now. With the proper amount of time to prepare, you can determine your timeline and plan steps to complete the requirements. We can assist you in mapping out a clear plan of action, with an according timeline, so you’ll have a solid plan for meeting CMMC requirements.

How can I budget for CMMC?

Once you have your assigned level for CMMC, an experienced partner like QualityIP can help you determine how to proceed. We can access your level and make a recommendation based on your timeline and budget. There are three different options to meet your requirements: enterprise, enclave and per contract.

How to get CMMC certification

The process for CMMC certification can seem daunting, but if you have an experienced IT partner, you’ll be able to accurately assess what needs to be done and proceed with confidence.

If you want to take the first step toward meeting the requirements for CMMC, QualityIP is an award-winning local IT company with the expertise to help. We’re familiar with all requirements of CMMC certification, and we can help you obtain compliance. We will work with you, and based on the level you’re assigned, and make our recommendations, specifically tailored to your budget and timeline.

Get the support you need for CMMC certification. Contact us today.